Missy Mazzoli and Royce Vavrek awarded 2023 Marc Blitzstein Award for Musical Theater and Opera, given by the American Academy of Arts and Letters

“Composer Missy Mazzoli and librettist Royce Vavrek will each receive a Marc Blitzstein Memorial Award of $10,000, which are given in the memory of Marc Blitzstein to composers, lyricists, or librettists to encourage the creation of works of merit for musical theater and opera. Mazzoli and Vavrek have collaborated on the operas Breaking the WavesProving UpSongs from the Uproar, and The Listeners.”